Tags

, , ,

CORBIS SCRIBO

I’ve always loved anagrams and Latin, but I’ve never found a list of Latin anagram pairs anywhere, whether in a book or online.  I therefore present my own list of the best, longest, and most well-mixed Latin anagrams I’ve discovered in a lifetime of collecting, ever since the first Latin anagram pair I discovered decades ago (CORBIS-SCRIBO).  I’ve limited it to words of at least six letters, and I’ve generally focused on fundamental forms (such as principal parts of verbs, or nouns and adjectives in the nominative case); if all inflected forms were included, many more possibilities would be available (such as PASTOR-PORTAS-PROTAS-SPORTA).

  • ABNEPTIS (great-great-granddaughter) – BIPATENS (open in two directions)
  • ACCELERO (I accelerate) – COCLEARE (spoon, spoonful)
  • ACCEPTUS (accepted, welcome) – PECCATUS (sinned)
  • ADLUCEO (I give light) – CLAUDEO (I hobble)
  • ADMONITIO (admonition) – DOMINATIO (domination)
  • ADSECTOR (I accompany – deponent) – TARDESCO (I slow down)
  • ADULATOR (sycophant) – LAUDATOR (eulogist, one who praises)
  • AEQUOR (level surface, plain) – QUAERO (I seek)
  • ALGIDUS (cold) – GLADIUS (sword)
  • ALIORSUM (elsewhere, differently) – SOLARIUM (terrace)
  • ALIQUIS (someone, anyone) – SILIQUA (pod)
  • ANNUATIM (annually) – NUMANTIA (an Iberian city)
  • ANTLIA (air pump) – LATINA (Latin)
  • APICATUS (wearing a pointed priest’s hat) – PAUCITAS (paucity)
  • APPLORO (I deplore) – PROPOLA (huckster, seller)
  • ARCESSITU (by a summons) – SECURITAS (safety, freedom from care)
  • ARGILETUM (a famed street in Rome) – GALERITUM (hooded)
  • ATTRIBUO (I appoint) – TURBATIO (disturbance)
  • AUSCULTO (I heed) – OCULATUS (eye-catching, conspicuous)
  • AUSTRALIS (southern) – SALUTARIS (advantageous)
  • BICORNIS (two-horned, two-peaked) – INSCRIBO (I inscribe)
  • CALUMNIA (calumny, libel) – MANICULA (little hand)
  • CANITIES (gray hair, old age) – SCIENTIA (knowledge)
  • CAPISTRO (I bind, I halter) – PISCATOR (fisherman)
  • CASTOREUM (beaver secretion used medicinally) – MATURESCO (I ripen)
  • CATELLUS (puppy) – SCUTELLA (saucer, escutcheons)
  • CESSATIO (delay, neglect) – SOCIETAS (society)
  • CETERA (others, the rest) – TACERE (to be silent)
  • CITHARA (cithara, lyre) – THRACIA (Thrace)
  • COEPTUS (undertaking, undertaken) – PUTESCO (I begin to rot)
  • CONDERE (to found, to bury) – DECERNO (I determine)
  • CONSENTIO (I agree to) – INNOTESCO (I become known)
  • CONSILIUM (advice) – INCOLUMIS (safe)
  • CONTINERE (to comprise) – INTERNECO (I exterminate)
  • CORBIS (basket) – SCRIBO (I write)
  • COTIDIE (daily) – EDICTIO (edict, decree)
  • CRISPUS (curly) – PRISCUS (ancient) – SCIRPUS (bulrush, riddle)
  • CURSITO (I race) – TROICUS (Trojan)
  • DECENNIS (decennial) – INDECENS (unseemly)
  • DEMITTO (I drop, I descend [in lineage]) – TOTIDEM (in equal number)
  • DEPORTO (I convey) – TORPEDO (stingray, lethargy)
  • DIRUNITAS (long duration) – INDUSTRIA (industry)
  • DISPERTIO (I assign) – POSTRIDIE (on the following day)
  • DISSULTO (I bounce off) – STOLIDUS (inert, brutish)
  • DOMESTICUS (domestic) – SEMIDOCTUS (half-taught)
  • ENORMITAS (enormousness) – SEMINATOR (originator, producer)
  • ENUTRIO (I nurture) – INTUEOR (I admire – deponent)
  • EPISTULA (epistle) – PUTEALIS (derived from a well)
  • FAMELICUS (hungry) – MALEFICUS (harmful)
  • FULGURALIS (pertaining to lightning) – LARGIFLUUS (free-flowing)
  • GENITOR (creator) – INTEGRO (I renew, I integrate)
  • GOBIUS (small fish used for bait) – SUBIGO (I compel)
  • HEROINA (heroine) – INHAERO (I adhere)
  • IACULOR (I hurl – deponent) – ORICULA (ear)
  • IGNOTUS (ignorant [of]) – STINGUO (I annihilate)
  • IMPERITIA (inexperience) – PRIMITIAE (beginnings)
  • IMPETRO (I obtain) – TEMPORI (seasonably, at the right time)
  • INCAUTUS (incautious, heedless) – NAUTICUS (nautical)
  • INEMPTUS (unbought) – SPINETUM (thicket of thornbushes)
  • INFREMO (I bellow) – OMNIFER (carrying everything)
  • INHORRESCO (I bristle, I tremble) – RHINOCEROS (rhinoceros)
  • INORATUS (unheard) – INSTAURO (I renew) – NOTARIUS (notary)
  • INSERO (I graft, I plant) – ORIENS (east, sunrise) – SENIOR (older)
  • INSERTO (I insert) – TENORIS (course – genitive) – TRIONES (plow oxen)
  • INSOLABILITER (inconsolably) – INTOLERABILIS (insufferable)
  • INSPERGO (I sprinkle) – PERSIGNO (I note down)
  • INSPICERE (to examine) – PERNICIES (destruction)
  • INSULA (island) – LANIUS (butcher)
  • INTERSUM (I am between, I am present) – TERMINUS (boundary)
  • LEPORIS (hare – genitive) – LORIPES (bandy-legged) – PELORIS (clam)
  • LIGNEUS (wooden) – SINGULE (apiece)
  • LORATUS (bound with thongs) – SALUTOR (greeter)
  • LUSCITIOSUS (purblind) – SITICULOSUS (parched)
  • MITULUS (mussel) – MUTILUS (mutilated) – ULTIMUS (last)
  • NOSCERE (to be familiar with) – SECERNO (I separate)
  • OCTIPES (eight-footed) – SPECTIO (the right to observe auspices)
  • OPTIMUS (best) – SUMPTIO (premise of a syllogism)
  • OPTINERE (to obtain) – PERTINEO (I reach, I pertain)
  • ORNATUS (ornate) – TONSURA (tonsure) – TRANSUO (I pierce)
  • PASTOR (shepherd) – SPORTA (basket)
  • PASTORICIUS (related to shepherds) – PISCATORIUS (related to fishing)
  • PATRICIUS (patrician) – PIRATICUS (piratical) – SPURCITIA (filthiness)
  • PERMANSI (I endured) – SPIRAMEN (airhole)
  • PERSICUS (Persian) – SCIRPEUS (made of rushes; straw man)
  • PILATUS (soldier armed with a javelin) – STIPULA (reed, straw)
  • PLORATUS (wailing) – SPORTULA (prize, small basket)
  • POSTERI (descendants) – SPRETIO (contempt)
  • POSTERITAS (future, posterity) – STIPATORES (bodyguards)
  • POSTERUS (descendant) – SUPERSTO (I stand upon)
  • PRAESTRUO (I block, I make impassible) – SUPERATOR (conqueror)
  • PRAETENTO (I allege) – TANTOPERE (so much, so hard)
  • ROBUSTUS (hard) – SUBORTUS (springing up) – SUBSTRUO (I build up)
  • SAVITER (agreeably) – VERITAS (truth)
  • SENATOR (senator) – TRANSEO (I cross over)
  • SIGNATOR (signer, witness to a legal document) – TRANSIGO (I bargain)
  • STERCORO (I defecate) – TORRESCO (I am roasted)
  • STUDIUM (study) – TUMIDUS (swollen, prideful)
  • SUAVITER (pleasantly) – VERSUTIA (cunning)
  • TRIVIALIS (trivial, commonplace) – VIRILITAS (manhood)
  • UNIVERSE (generally – adv. of universus) – VENERIUS (related to Venus)
